Activities

Events

MIS Symposium 2017 – Multilingualism as Migration

The fourth Key Area MIS symposium discusses multilingualism as cross-border movement. Texts and the historical and cultural contexts to which they refer are examined as settings for interaction between various linguistic processes.
The symposium will take place on 3-4 July 2017 and is aimed at scholars in literature, linguistic, social sciences and cultural studies.
Rainier Grutman (University of Ottawa) and Sandra Vlasta (Johannes Gutenberg Universität Mainz) are invited as keynote speakers.

2017-2019 collaboration project launched

The Key Area MIS in conjunction with ‘Villa Vigoni’ has organised a colloquium series tackling issues of European integration in the face of crisis scenarios and ongoing migratory movement. Social science and cultural studies scholars from Luxembourg, Italy and other countries will be meeting regularly to discuss this subject up until 2019. The focus of the first colloquium (2017) will be the reasons for flight from a literary and philosophical perspective.

Film screening: Wallah – Je te jure

The Key Area MIS invites you to attend a film screening and discussion with one of the filmmakers. On 1 March 2017 we will be screening a documentary film on the often tragic journey of the men and women who travel the West African migratory routes to Italy. The film was roduced by the International Organisation for Migration and last screened at the Global Migration Film Festival.

Conference – Afghanistan/EU – Ethno-religious conflicts and asylum policy

The recently established agreement between Afghanistan and the EU has brought about a public debate in Luxembourg and other EU member states. The Key Area MIS contributes to these debates by co-organizing on 31 January 2017 the evening conference “Afghanistan/EU – Ethno-religious conflicts and asylum policy”. The conference comprises two lectures followed by a roundtable discussion bringing together scholarly reflections, political reasoning, public claims and individual experiences.

Conference – Diachronic Interculturality

Among studies in interculturality, perspectives taking into account the historical construction conditions of cultural otherness are still rare. However, if the temporal dimension is taken into account new fields of analysis are opened up that help better define the concept of interculturality. The conference focusses on this field in order to strengthen the connection between this largely cultural-studies-oriented research field and aesthetic and genuinely literary studies questions.

Activités

Événements

Symposium MIS 2017 – Le multilinguisme comme migration

Le 4ème symposium du domaine-clé MIS sera le cadre d’un débat abordant le multilinguisme comme un mouvement transfrontalier.
Des textes ainsi que les contextes historiques et culturels auxquels ils se réfèrent y seront appréhendés comme théâtre des interactions entre différents processus linguistiques.
Le symposium aura lieu les 3 et 4 juillet 2017 et s’adresse à des chercheurs en littérature, en linguistique, experts en sciences sociales et en études culturelles.

Lancement d’un projet de coopération 2017-2019

Le Key Area MIS organise avec la « Villa Vigoni » une série de colloques sur les questions de l’intégration européenne à la lumière de scénarios de crise et de mouvements migratoires persistants. Des chercheurs en sciences sociales et culturelles, venant du Luxembourg, de l’Italie et d’autres pays, se retrouveront régulièrement ici pour débattre de ces questions jusqu’en 2019. La thématique prioritaire du premier colloque (2017) est le motif de la fuite d’un point de vue littéraire et philosophique.

Projection du film : Wallah – Je te jure

Le Key Area MIS invite à une projection du film et à une discussion avec l’un des cinéastes. Un film
documentaire sur le voyage souvent tragique d’hommes et de femmes qui tentent de rejoindre l’Italie en empruntant les routes migratoires de l’Afrique occidentale sera présenté le 1er mars 2017. Le film a été produit par l’Organisation Internationale pour les Migrations et présenté il y a peu de temps dans le cadre du « Global Migration Film Festival ».

Conference – Afghanistan/EU – Ethno-religious conflicts and asylum policy

L’accord conclu récemment entre l’Afghanistan et l’UE a donné lieu à des débats publics au Luxembourg et dans d’autres Etats membres de l’UE. Le Key Area MIS y contribue en co-organisant dans la soirée du 31 janvier 2017 une conférence intitulée « Afghanistan/EU – Ethno-religious conflicts and asylum policy ». La conférence se compose de deux exposés suivis d’une table ronde au cours de laquelle seront rassemblées des réflexions scientifiques, la logique politique, des affirmations publiques et des expériences personnelles.

Conférence – interculturalité diachronique

Dans les études interculturelles, les travaux tenant compte du contexte historique de l’altérité culturelle sont encore rares. Or, si l’on inclut la dimension temporelle, de nouveaux champs d’analyse se profilent qui aident à mieux définir la notion d’interculturalité. C’est à ce niveau qu’intervient la conférence : elle met en rapport la recherche, le plus souvent axée sur les études culturelles, et les questions esthétiques et littéraires stricto sensu.