Activities
Events

Workshop – Interculturality as a Transdisciplinary Concept

foto1On 5 November 2014, the Key Area organised an international workshop. Taking the topic ‘Interculturality as a Transdisciplinary Concept. Approaches – Applications – Desiderata’, this event was designed to cover various approaches to interculturality in the disciplines of linguistics, German studies, history, sociology and philosophy. The potential of interculturality concepts was also discussed and critically evaluated. Speakers were invited from a variety of countries and academic cultures:

 

Anil Bhatti (Jawaharlal Nehru University New Delhi)
Ähnlichkeit und Differenz in einer Migrationswelt. Aspekte von Kulturproduktion und Kulturtheorie heute

Mike Byram (Durham University)
Competence-based approach(es) to Interculturality in Education and Criticality

Johannes Meyer-Hamme (University of Paderborn)
Diversity of histories. Historical thinking skills in intercultural perspective

Fred Dervin (University of Helsinki)
Interculturality beyond culture: Does it make sense?

Manfred Weinberg (Charles University in Prague)
Interkulturalität als Projekt

‘Similarity’ and ‘Interculturality’ as Guiding Concepts

foto3_bhatti
Anil Bhatti, New Delhi

The concept of ‘similarity’ emerged as a key term during the workshop, introduced by Anil Bhatti (New Delhi) as a search term in the first lecture. Whilst ‘interculturality’ played no role for Bhatti’s concept of interdependence and overlapping, it was made the focus of the lecture given by Mike Byram (Durham), named as a specific skill within foreign language teaching. Johannes Meyer-Hamme (Paderborn) continued examining the question of mediation but from a historical-didactic perspective in his lecture. He began by referring to the existing research tradition in the topic area of ‘historical intercultural learning’, but also emphasised that more comprehensive investigations still represent a research desideratum. Fred Dervin (Helsinki) critically examined the concept of ‘interculturality’ in his lecture: it was described as polysemic, outdated and in constant danger of being identified with a closed cultural concept. Nevertheless, Dervin advocated retaining the concept of interculturality and developed an ideal type for ‘interculturalists’.

Re-examining the concept of ‘interculturality’

Manfred Weinberg (Prague) finally rounded off the conference with a re-examination of the concept of ‘interculturality’, and also opened new prospects for interculturality research: the concept of a ‘border’ was in his view too narrow for intercultural spatial concepts, meaning that the term ‘border’ should be replaced with the spatial model of the horizon. The horizon, which does not represent a space encircled by a border but rather a space which requires the occurrence of stable units and border relationships to be constantly newly discussed and clarified, enables investigation of unstable units, temporary borders, mixings and displacements.

Outlook: ‘Narratology of Interculturality’

The workshop saw differences in the definition and use of the concept of interculturality become manifest, together with remarkable overlaps: in addition to operating with an open cultural concept and the corresponding understanding of culture as a plurale tantum, ‘similarity’ and ‘interdependence’ emerged as key terms. Narrative readings of culture also again emerged, prompting Dieter Heimböckel to name the research field of ‘Narratology in Interculturality’ as a potential future prospect in his closing remarks.

Activités
Événements

Atelier – L’interculturalité : un concept interdisciplinaire

foto1Le 5 novembre 2014, le domaine-clé organisait un atelier international intitulé « L’interculturalité : un concept interdisciplinaire. Approches – Applications – Desiderata » consacrés aux différentes approches de l’interculturalité en linguistique, philologie germanique, histoire, sociologie et philosophie. En outre, les potentiels des notions d’interculturalité ont été discutés et analysés de façon critique. Des référents de différents pays et cultures avaient été invités :

 

 

Anil Bhatti (Jawaharlal Nehru Universität New Delhi)
Ähnlichkeit und Differenz in einer Migrationswelt. Aspekte von Kulturproduktion und Kulturtheorie heute

Mike Byram (Durham University)
Competence-based approach(es) to Interculturality in Education and Criticality

Johannes Meyer-Hamme (Universität Paderborn)
Diversity of histories. Historical thinking skills in intercultural perspective

Fred Dervin (University of Helsinki)
Interculturality beyond culture: Does it make sense?

Manfred Weinberg (Université Charles de Prague)
Interkulturalität als Projekt

›Similitude‹ et ›Interculturalité‹ : des concepts dominants

foto3_bhatti
Anil Bhatti, Neu Delhi

L’atelier a fait ressortir dès le début la notion de ›similitude‹ (›similarity‹) introduite par Anil Bhatti (New Delhi) lors de sa présentation. Tandis que l’›interculturalité‹ ne joue aucun rôle dans le concept d’interdépendance et de chevauchement d’Anil Bhatti, elle est au centre de la présentation de Mike Byram (Durham) en tant que compétence spécifique dans le cadre des cours de langue étrangère. Johannes Meyer-Hamme (Paderborn) traite également de la question de la transmission dans sa présentation, toutefois du point de vue historico-didactique. Il fait tout d’abord référence à la tradition existante dans la recherche sur le vaste sujet de l’›apprentissage interculturel historique‹ et souligne cependant que des analyses plus complètes restent encore du domaine du souhait. Fred Dervin (Helsinki) pose quant à lui le problème de la notion d’›interculturalité‹ dans son exposé : selon lui, elle est polysémique et obsolète et risque constamment d’être identifiée avec une notion fermée de la culture. Fred Dervin se prononce toutefois en faveur du maintien de la notion d’interculturalité et présente son idéal-type d’›interculturaliste‹.

Remise en question de la notion d’›interculturalité

Manfred Weinberg (Prague) a clôturé la session par la remise en question de la notion d’›interculturalité‹ et l’ouverture parallèle d’une nouvelle perspective pour la recherche sur l’interculturalité : la notion de frontière en tant que ›border‹ serait, selon lui, trop étroite pour les notions d’espaces en matière d’interculturalité et la notion de ›frontière‹ doit être remplacée par le modèle spatial de l’horizon. Une notion d’horizon non pas définie en tant qu’espace non délimité par une frontière mais plutôt en tant qu’espace au sein duquel la détermination d’unités et de frontières stables doit constamment être discutée et expliquée permettrait d’envisager des unités instables, des frontières temporaires, des mélanges et des déplacements

Perspective : ›Narratologie de l’interculturalité

Pendant l’atelier, des différences manifestes dans la définition et l’application de la notion d’interculturalité sont apparues au même titre que des recoupements : outre l’association à une notion ouverte de culture et la compréhension unanime de la celle-ci en tant que plurale tantum, la ›similitude‹ et l’›interdépendance‹ se sont révélés être des termes centraux. Parallèlement, des modes de lecture narratifs de la culture visibles à plusieurs reprises ont amené Dieter Heimböckel à mentionner lors de son discours de clôture la ›Narratologie de l’interculturalité‹ en tant que domaine de recherche et perspective d’avenir possible.