Activities
Events

MIS symposium 2015 – Multilingualism: Approaches and Research Perspectives

PosterFollowing the Key Area workshop in November 2014, the MIS symposium ‘Multilingualism – Approaches and Research Perspectives. Society – Education – Literature’ took place on 24 and 25 March 2015. The invited speakers from Belgium, Germany, France, Ireland and Luxembourg discussed the approaches and findings of their research work in relation to social, political, cultural and educational aspects.

 

 

Panel 1: Multilingualism and Society

Wim Vandenbussche, Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Wim Vandenbussche, Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Julia de Bres (University of Luxembourg) opened the first panel and used the general question ‘What is sociolinguistics?’ to present the linguistic situation in Luxembourg, which has transformed from trilingualism into a far more complex system over recent decades. Helen Kelly-Holmes (University of Limerick) investigated the perception of various languages for their marketing effect. According to Kelly-Holmes, English remains a lingua franca but has lost its power of persuasion due to its role as a ‘language of everyone and no-one’. Wim Vandenbussche (Vrije Universiteit Brussel) explored the politically charged and historic linguistic conflict in Belgium, which has long been more than a merely linguistic issue as language is increasingly associated with cultural and social functions.

 

 

Panel 2: Multilingualism and Education

Adelheid Hu (University of Luxembourg) opened the second panel and discussed the extent to which multilingualism was embedded within the environment of interaction between identity development (education), collective identity development (politics) and global competitiveness (economy). Sílvia Melo-Pfeifer (University of Hamburg) added that teaching in German schools simulates a monolingual multilingualism and highlighted the dynamic structure of linguistic identity. Sofia Stratilaki-Klein (University of Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris 3) tied in with this by presenting three models for the construction of student identity, arising from her own research.

Round table discussion: Multilingualism from a Multidisciplinary Perspective

L. Heuschling, A. Hu, C. Weth, B. Huemer, M. Reichert and N. Roelens (f. l. t. r.)

Participants in the round table discussion had the opportunity to exchange ideas with researchers from the University of Luxembourg who are addressing questions of multilingualism and its analysis. The discussion included Luc Heuschling (Centre for European Law), Birgit Huemer (Language Centre), Monique Reicher (Luxembourg Centre for Educational Testing), Nathalie Roelens (Institute for Romance, Media and Art Studies) and Constanze Weth (Institute for Research on Multilingualism).

 

 

Panel 3: Multilingualism and Literature

The introduction to the third panel was provided by Till Dembeck (University of Luxembourg), who discussed the significance of interference between multilingualism and literature. He developed the theory that even monolingual texts are pervaded by various linguistic systems. Reine Meylaerts (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven) tied in to this with a conceptual demonstration of the extent to which authors function as cultural mediators. Dirk Weissmann (University Paris Est Créteil) followed on from Dembeck by promoting the theory that multilingual literature exists not only at linguistic borders but also in monolingual texts. Building on this, he began a critical discussion of established periodisations and classifications in literary studies.

A joint event organised by the Key Area ‘MIS – Multilingualism and Intercultural Studies’ and the research priority ‘Education: Focusing on Multilingualism and Diversity’.

Planning and organisation: Julia de Bres, Jeanne E. Glesener, Dieter Heimböckel, Adelheid Hu, Mélanie Wagner, Constanze Weth, Christian Wille.

Activités
Événements

Symposium MIS – Multilinguisme : approches et perspectives de recherche

PosterAprès l’atelier du domaine-clé en novembre 2014, le symposium MIS « Multilingualism – Approaches and Research Perspectives. Society – Education – Literature » a eu lieu les 24 et 25 mars 2015. Les référents invités venus de Belgique, d’Allemagne, de France, d’Irlande et du Luxembourg ont discuté des approches et les résultats de leurs travaux de recherche sur le multilinguisme d’un point de vue social, politique, culturel et pédagogique.

 

 

Panel 1 : Multilinguisme et société

Wim Vandenbussche, Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Wim Vandenbussche, Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Julia de Bres (Université du Luxembourg) a ouvert le premier panel en présentant, à partir de la question « Qu’est-ce que la sociolinguistique ? », la situation linguistique au Luxembourg qui du trilinguisme s’est transformée en un système beaucoup plus complexe au cours des dernières décennies. Helen Kelly-Holmes (University of Limerick) a étudié la perception de différentes langues et son impact en marketing. Selon elle, l’anglais reste la lingua franca mais perd en force de conviction en tant que « language of everyone and no-one ». Wim Vandenbussche (Vrije Universiteit Brussel) a éclairé le conflit linguistique en Belgique, un conflit historique et délicat d’un point de politique qui, selon lui, n’a plus rien de linguistique du fait que la langue est de plus en plus liée à des fonctions culturelles et sociales.

 

 

Panel 2 : Multilinguisme et formation

Adelheid Hu (Université du Luxembourg) a ouvert le deuxième panel et exposé dans quelle mesure le multilinguisme se trouve au croisement du développement de l’identité individuelle (formation), du développement de l’identité collective (politique) et de la concurrence mondiale (économie). Sílvia Melo-Pfeifer (Universität Hamburg) a poursuivi par la constatation de la simulation d’un multilinguisme unilingue dans l’enseignement au sein des écoles allemandes et la mise en évidence de la structure dynamique de l’identité linguistique. Sofia Stratilaki-Klein (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris 3) s’est également inscrite dans ce contexte en présentant trois formes de construction d’identité chez les écoliers en s’appuyant sur sa propre étude.

Table ronde : le multilinguisme sous une perspective multidisciplinaire

L. Heuschling, A. Hu, C. Weth, B. Huemer, M. Reichert und N. Roelens (d. g. à. d.)

Lors de la table ronde, les participants avaient la possibilité d’échanger leurs idées avec des chercheurs de l’Université du Luxembourg traitant des questions liées au multilinguisme et à leur étude. Les intervenants étaient Luc Heuschling (Centre for European Law), Birgit Huemer (Language centre), Monique Reicher (Luxembourg Centre for Educational Testing), Nathalie Roelens (Institute for Romance, Media and Art Studies) et Constanze Weth (Institute for Research on Multilingualism).

 

 

Panel 3 : Multilinguisme et littérature

L’introduction au troisième panel a été faite par Till Dembeck (Université du Luxembourg) et l’importance d’interférences entre le multilinguisme et la littérature. Il a élaboré la thèse selon laquelle les textes monolingues sont également parsemés de différents systèmes linguistiques. Reine Meylaerts (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven) a repris cette thèse et montré de façon conceptuelle dans quelle mesure les auteurs jouent le rôle de médiateurs culturels. En référence à Till Dembeck, Dirk Weissmann (Université Paris-Est Créteil) affirme la thèse selon laquelle la littérature plurilingue existe non seulement aux frontières linguistiques mais également dans les textes monolingues. Sur la base de ce constat, il a discuté de façon critique les périodes et classifications existantes en littérature.

Une manifestation conjointe du domaine-clé « MIS – Multilinguisme et études interculturelles » et de l’axe de recherche prioritaire « Education: Focusing on Multilingualism and Diversity ».

Conception et organisation : Julia de Bres, Jeanne E. Glesener, Dieter Heimböckel, Adelheid Hu, Mélanie Wagner, Constanze Weth, Christian Wille.